1. Home
  2. SUV
  3. Peace and Quiet: The 10 Quietest and Most Scenic Roads in America

Peace and Quiet: The 10 Quietest and Most Scenic Roads in America

nicad 28/03/2022 429

In January 1966, The Vogues, originally from Pennsylvania, came out Paix et tranquillité : les 10 routes les plus calmes et les plus pittoresques d'Amérique

Five O'Clock World. The album's self-titled lead single tells the story - which we can all relate to - of a man rushing through the city and battling through rush hour traffic. He works hard to earn his salary, but it's worth it because at the end of the day, a "girl with long hair" is waiting for him.

A line in the first verse points to something we've all experienced: "the sounds of the city pounding in my brain, as another day slips by in the sewers."

Quiet getaway

Polar bear dive

Desert Landscapes & Autumn Colors

Out & About

Quiet Getaway

Sometimes it is necessary to get away from the hustle and bustle. If you're like us, you may have made up your mind to travel more in 2018, but where do you go when you hit the proverbial road? And where to go when looking for some peace and quiet? Geotab, a global leader in IoT and connected transportation, released a study analyzing national road traffic data to determine which U.S. roads are the least traveled and least congested.

Using traffic count data from the Highway Performance Monitoring System and the annual average daily traffic score, Geotab examined US highways and roads over 10 miles in length to identify the quietest roads in each state. And it turns out that the quietest routes are also some of the most scenic.

Polar bear dive

To help determine the most scenic routes, Geotab asked renowned photographer James "Q" Martin to participate. Martin has traveled extensively throughout the American Southwest and to over 30 countries, documenting the world-class athletes, artists, environmentalists, filmmakers and scientists who inspire him. The most scenic routes in Geotab's list have been compiled manually with the rankings decided by Martin himself.

“I chose the Dalton Highway in Alaska as my favorite scenic, quiet drive,” he explained. "It's a road that reaches the top of the continent, and would literally allow you to see a polar bear under the right circumstances."

The Dalton Highway is over 400 miles with over 250 miles between services. stations. The area is famous for the TV show Ice Road Truckers

, and brave travelers will see Alaska's boreal forests, mountain ranges and the Yukon River. Compared to the others on the list, the traffic numbers are pretty slim, averaging just 196 vehicles per day. The remaining nine routes handled an average of 2,976 vehicles per day, about 15 times more than the Dalton route in Alaska. Paix et tranquillité : les 10 routes les plus calmes et les plus pittoresques d'Amérique

The James W. Dalton Highway is a 414-mile stretch of gravel and dirt that stretches from Livengood to Prudhoe Bay with the Trans-Alaska Pipeline running along the highway. According to Alaska.org, travelers will pass through Coldfoot, home to the world's northernmost truck stop and the only place on the highway to stop for the night. The accommodations are simple but expensive. Photo: Terry Feuerborn.

Desert Landscapes & Autumn Colors

Utah's Route 50 came in close behind, dubbed "America's loneliest road" through Canyonlands National Park, Arches National Park and the Great Salt Lake Wilderness. The desert, in general, can be a nice place to drive speaking from experience. In the past, we've traveled (more than once) from Phoenix, Arizona to Los Angeles and San Francisco, California. Interstate 10, especially at sunset, offers stunning views of the desert landscape.

In third place is US Route 201 in Maine, often referred to as the "Old Canada Road". Travelers on this trip will see historic places and Lake Wyman. It is recommended to do this trip in the fall just when the leaves are changing color.

“US 50 in Utah allows you to travel through geologic time, and Maine's Old Canadian Highway is where human history unfolds at every turn,” Martin said.

Wyoming's Beartooth Highway to Yellowstone National Park makes the list unsurprisingly. . Beartooth Lake and the Absaroka Mountains also offer stunning views, but plan to visit when the weather is nicer. The road is closed during the winter. Photo: Tia Troy.

Out & About

In addition to determining the top 10 most scenic routes, Geotab identified the least traveled routes by state. Here in Michigan, Geotab lists U.S. Route 45, a 54-mile stretch that crosses the state's Upper Peninsula, as the quietest and least trafficked. While many are "off the beaten path," Geotab's interactive map includes photos, additional information, and Google Street Views that highlight the various attractions on or near each route.

“All of these routes offer so much,” added Martin.

The full list and the interactive Geotab map can be viewed here. If you decide to go out, be sure to share your photos with us on Twitter.

Carl Anthony is the editor of Automoblog and resides in Detroit, Michigan. He studied mechanical engineering at Wayne State University, served on the board of the Ally Jolie Baldwin Foundation, and was a loyal Detroit Lions fan.

Cover photo: Augusta, Maine skyline, Sean Pavon. p>

Dalton Highway Photo: "Dalton Highway, Brooks Range, Alaska, 2009" by Terry Feuerborn Licensed CC BY-NC 2.0. To see more photos, including basic hotel rooms, please visit the Feuerborn Flickr page.


PREV: A rare Porsche 962C ends up in pieces on the Spa circuit

NEXT: RoboRace: Autonomous racing car?

Popular Articles

Hot Articles
Back to Top

1. Accueil
  2. Suv
  3. Paix et tranquillité : les 10 routes les plus calmes et les plus pittoresques d'Amérique

Paix et tranquillité : les 10 routes les plus calmes et les plus pittoresques d'Amérique

nicad 28/03/2022 431

En janvier 1966, The Vogues, originaire de Pennsylvanie, est sortiPaix et tranquillité : les 10 routes les plus calmes et les plus pittoresques d'Amérique

Five O'Clock World. Le premier single éponyme de l'album raconte l'histoire - à laquelle nous pouvons tous nous identifier - d'un homme se précipitant dans la ville et se battant dans la circulation aux heures de pointe. Il travaille dur pour gagner son salaire, mais cela en vaut la peine car à la fin de la journée, une "fille aux cheveux longs" l'attend.

Une ligne dans le premier couplet indique quelque chose nous avons tous déjà vécu: "les sons de la ville qui martèlent dans mon cerveau, tandis qu'un autre jour s'écoule dans les égouts."

Escapade tranquille

Plongeon de l'ours polaire

Paysages désertiques & Couleurs d'automne

Out & À propos

Quiet Getaway

Parfois, il est nécessaire de s'éloigner de l'agitation et du bruit. Si vous êtes comme nous, vous avez peut-être pris la résolution de voyager davantage en 2018, mais où aller quand on prend la route proverbiale ? Et où aller quand on cherche un peu de calme et de tranquillité ? Geotab, un leader mondial de l'IoT et des transports connectés, a publié une étude analysant les données nationales sur le trafic routier afin de déterminer quelles routes américaines sont les moins fréquentées et les moins encombrées.

En utilisant les données de comptage du trafic du Highway Performance Monitoring System et le score de trafic quotidien moyen annuel, Geotab a examiné les autoroutes et les routes américaines de plus de 10 miles de long pour identifier les routes les plus silencieuses dans chaque état. Et il se trouve que les itinéraires les plus silencieux sont également parmi les plus pittoresques.

Plongeon de l'ours polaire

Pour aider à déterminer les itinéraires les plus pittoresques, Geotab a demandé au célèbre photographe James "Q" Martin participer. Martin a beaucoup voyagé dans le sud-ouest américain et dans plus de 30 pays, documentant les athlètes, artistes, écologistes, cinéastes et scientifiques de classe mondiale qui l'inspirent. Les routes les plus pittoresques de la liste de Geotab ont été compilées manuellement avec les classements décidés par Martin lui-même.

« J'ai choisi la route Dalton en Alaska comme ma route panoramique et tranquille préférée », a-t-il expliqué. "C'est une route qui atteint le sommet du continent, et vous permettrait littéralement de voir un ours polaire dans les bonnes circonstances."

La Dalton Highway parcourt plus de 400 milles avec plus de 250 milles entre les services. gares. La région est célèbre pour l'émission télévisée Ice Road Truckers

, et les voyageurs courageux verront les forêts boréales de l'Alaska, les chaînes de montagnes et le fleuve Yukon. Comparé aux autres sur la liste, les chiffres du trafic sont assez minces, avec une moyenne de seulement 196 véhicules par jour. Les neuf routes restantes accueillaient en moyenne 2 976 véhicules par jour, environ 15 fois plus que la route Dalton en Alaska.Paix et tranquillité : les 10 routes les plus calmes et les plus pittoresques d'Amérique

La route James W. Dalton est un tronçon de gravier et de terre de 414 milles qui s'étend de Livengood à Prudhoe Bay avec le Pipeline trans-Alaska longeant la route. Selon Alaska.org, les voyageurs passeront par Coldfoot, qui abrite le relais routier le plus septentrional du monde et le seul endroit de l'autoroute où s'arrêter pour la nuit. Les logements sont simples mais chers. Photo: Terry Feuerborn.

Paysages désertiques & Couleurs d'automne

La route50 de l'Utah est arrivée juste derrière, qualifiée de «la route la plus solitaire de l'Amérique» à travers le parc national de Canyonlands, le parc national des Arches et le désert du Grand Lac Salé. Le désert, en général, peut être un endroit agréable à conduire en parlant d'expérience. Dans le passé, nous avons fait le voyage (plus d'une fois) de Phoenix, en Arizona, à Los Angeles et à San Francisco, en Californie. L'Interstate10, en particulier au coucher du soleil, offre une vue imprenable sur le paysage désertique.

En troisième place se trouve la U.S. Route201 dans le Maine, souvent appelée «Old Canada Road». Les voyageurs de ce voyage verront des lieux historiques et le lac Wyman. Il est recommandé de faire ce trajet à l'automne juste au moment où les feuilles changent de couleur.

«U.S. 50 dans l'Utah vous permet de voyager dans le temps géologique, et l'ancienne route canadienne du Maine est l'endroit où l'histoire humaine se déroule à chaque tournant », a déclaré Martin.

La route Beartooth du Wyoming menant au parc national de Yellowstone figure sur la liste sans surprise. . Le lac Beartooth et les montagnes Absaroka offrent également une vue imprenable, mais prévoyez de visiter lorsque le temps sera plus clément. La route est fermée pendant l'hiver. Photo: Tia Troy.

Out & À propos

En plus de déterminer le top 10 des itinéraires les plus pittoresques, Geotab a identifié les itinéraires les moins fréquentés par état. Ici, dans le Michigan, Geotab répertorie la U.S. Route 45, un tronçon de 54 milles qui traverse la péninsule supérieure de l'État, comme la plus silencieuse et la moins fréquentée. Alors que beaucoup sont "hors des sentiers battus", la carte interactive de Geotab comprend des photos, des informations supplémentaires et Google Street Views qui mettent en évidence les différentes attractions sur ou à proximité de chaque itinéraire.

"Tous ces itinéraires offrent tellement, ” a ajouté Martin.

La liste complète et la carte interactive de Geotab peuvent être consultées ici. Si vous décidez de sortir, assurez-vous de partager vos photos avec nous sur Twitter.

Carl Anthony est rédacteur en chef d'Automoblog et réside à Detroit, Michigan. Il étudie l'ingénierie mécanique à la Wayne State University, siège au conseil d'administration de la Fondation Ally Jolie Baldwin et est un fidèle fan des Detroit Lions.

Photo de couverture : Augusta, Maine skyline, Sean Pavon. p>

Dalton Highway Photo : « Dalton Highway, Brooks Range, Alaska, 2009 » par Terry Feuerborn Sous licence CC BY-NC 2.0. Pour voir plus de photos, y compris les chambres d'hôtel de base, veuillez visiter la page Flickr de Feuerborn.


PREV: Une rarissime Porsche 962C termine en miettes sur le circuit de Spa

NEXT: RoboRace : Voiture de course autonome ?

Articles populaires

Articles chauds
Retour au sommet