1. Home
  2. SUV
  3. 2018 Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon: the cool styling of Miles Davis and Bob Marley

2018 Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon: the cool styling of Miles Davis and Bob Marley

nicad 12/02/2022 488

Remember that guy in high school who somehow ended up with his grandparents' station wagon? And how he swore up and down that it was "cool". And people were pointing and laughing, or maybe his friends were trying to point out that "wagons just ain't cool, man." There's no way a Chevy Impala or Ford Country Squire wagon, with those plastic real wood grain walnut veneer side panels, would be straight or cool. I mean, you could have Miles Davis driving one with Bob Marley sitting in the passenger seat rolling up dachshund puppy-sized spliffs with Coltrane jamming the megawatt stereo, and even that wouldn't make a wagon cool.

Try as hard as you can to fix it–mags and tires, a noisy exhaust, messing with the engine–Chevy Impala wagons or Ford Country Squires will never be as cool as the JV quarterback's El Camino or the king's Z28 of the ball. . But suppose they were? Suppose someone like, oh, Mercedes-Benz let their skunkworks team at AMG loose on an E-class wagon that a well-to-do Dortmund hausfrau would drive? That would be cool ? Let me put it this way: it would be so cool, you could keep a side of beef in it for a week.

Hot V-Power

Jackson Traction

Braking & Suspension Technology

CoolFactor

Mercedes-Benz AMG E63 S Wagon Gallery

Hot V-Power

The 2018 Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon is as practical as a wagon can get. Tons of modern connectivity and high-tech products, 35 cubic feet of trunk space in the back, a 40:20:40 split rear seat and a price tag of $106,950 (gasp!). But this thing could take you and the family on a Griswold vacation, so who cares? This thing can haul your butt from zero to 60 mph in 3.4 seconds and max out at 180 mph. The 2018 Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon can even lap the Nürburgring in 7:45.19

So bear with me as we put aside all that functionality, connectivity, comfort, convenience and the like to stay under the hood for quite a while, and look with love at this monster of an engine. It's a factory hand-built AMG 4.0-litre twin-turbo V8, with twin-scroll turbos tucked inside the V, known in Mercedes-Benz as "hot inside the V". Said mill develops 603 horsepower and 627 lb-ft. of torque. They say the "AMG V8 sound may not be family friendly", and all I could think of was "maybe in your family".

And the rest of the drivetrain is equally impressive.

Photo: MBUSA.

Jackson Traction

The engine is mated to an AMG SPEEDSHIFT MCT 9-speed transmission, using a wet clutch in place of a torque converter; from there, it's the AMG Performance 4MATIC+ all-wheel-drive system that supplies der Bahn with power through all four tires. The 4MATIC+ system has fully variable torque distribution between the front and rear axles. And, given the digital nannies between your right foot and the pavement, all you have to do is mash the sustain pedal and this thing goes with a capital "G" in all road conditions: dry, wet or snowy. Mercedes-Benz says the transition from rear-wheel drive to all-wheel drive and back is seamless. The distribution between front and rear is controlled by an electromechanically regulated coupling, connecting the permanently driven rear axle variably to the front axle, so that you can switch from a four-wheel drive focused on the traction to pure rear-wheel drive.

< p>Mercedes-Benz declares without an ounce of irony: "It is always possible to drift thanks to a fully variable torque distribution." Mercedes-Benz, the most closed and conservative of automakers, hailing from a country not exactly known for producing the likes of Flavor-Flav, makes a car that can purposely drift. Indeed, a Drift mode awaits you at the touch of (several) buttons.

Photo: MBUSA.

Braking & Suspension Technology

The ride is governed by an all-new AMG multi-chamber air suspension, configured with continuously variable damping for remarkably high levels of camber stability and steering precision. Air spring stiffness can be adjusted over a wide range to improve comfort and handling, while reducing body roll and pitch. Adaptive damping is available in three selectable modes: Comfort, Sport and Sport+.

The rear differential is an electronically controlled limited-slip system for more bite in curves. You can also choose from five AMG programs: Comfort, Sport, Sport+, RACE and Individual with essential parameters such as engine response, transmission, suspension, steering, stability control and various transmission settings. integral.

You want to stop ? The 2018 Mercedes AMG E63 S Wagon features 15.4-inch ventilated and perforated compound front brake discs, with six-piston fixed calipers. The rear uses 14.2-inch discs and single-piston floating calipers. The AMG carbon-ceramic composite braking system is optional and expensive, but it will stop you enough to tear a retina off. In other words, every penny is worth it.

CoolFactor

So, is the Mercedes-Benz AMG E63 S Wagon cool? You bet it's cool, and no Miles Davis or Bob Marley with dachshund-sized spliffs needed. Plus, the interior looks like the lair of a Bond villain. I will still keep the Coltrane.

Tony Borroz has spent his whole life racing vintage cars and sports cars. He is the author of

Bricks & Bones: The Endearing Legacy and Nitty-Gritty Phenomenon of The Indy 500, available in paperback or Kindle.

Mercedes-Benz AMG E63 S Wagon Gallery

Pictures & Source: MBUSA.


PREV: New Lotus Family Part 3: Alice's New Lady Beauty

NEXT: New Lotus Family Part 2: Smart and Sexy Elan

Popular Articles

Hot Articles
Back to Top

1. Accueil
  2. Suv
  3. Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon 2018 : le style cool de Miles Davis et Bob Marley

Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon 2018 : le style cool de Miles Davis et Bob Marley

nicad 12/02/2022 406

Vous vous souvenez de ce gars au lycée qui s'est retrouvé d'une manière ou d'une autre avec le break de ses grands-parents? Et comment il jurait de haut en bas que c'était "cool". Et les gens pointaient du doigt et riaient, ou peut-être que ses amis essayaient de souligner que «les wagons ne sont tout simplement pas cool, mec». Il n'y a aucun moyen qu'un wagon Chevy Impala ou Ford Country Squire, avec ces panneaux latéraux en placage de noyer à grain de bois véritable en plastique, soit droit ou cool. Je veux dire, vous pourriez avoir Miles Davis en conduisant un avec Bob Marley assis sur le siège passager enroulant des spliffs de la taille d'un chiot teckel avec Coltrane brouillant la chaîne stéréo mégawatt, et même cela ne rendrait pas un wagon cool.

Essayez autant que vous le pouvez de le réparer–mags et pneus, un échappement bruyant, jouer avec le moteur–les familiales Chevy Impala ou les Ford Country Squires ne seront jamais aussi cool que l'El Camino du quarterback JV ou la Z28 du roi du bal. . Mais supposons qu'ils l'étaient ? Supposons que quelqu'un comme, oh, Mercedes-Benz laisse son équipe de skunkworks chez AMG en liberté sur un wagon de classe E qu'un aisé Dortmund hausfrau conduirait? Ce serait cool ? Laissez-moi m'exprimer ainsi: ce serait tellement cool, vous pourriez y garder un côté de bœuf pendant une semaine.

Hot V Power

Traction Jackson

Freinage & Technologie de suspension

Cool Factor

Galerie Mercedes-Benz AMG E63 S Wagon

Hot V Power

La Mercedes-AMG E63 S 2018 Le wagon est aussi pratique qu'un wagon peut l'être. Des tonnes de connectivité moderne et de produits high-tech, 35 pieds cubes d'espace de coffre au retour, une banquette arrière divisée 40:20:40 et un prix de 106 950 $ (halètement!). Mais cette chose pourrait vous emmener, vous et la famille, en vacances à la Griswold, alors qui s'en soucie ? Cette chose peut transporter vos fesses de zéro à 60 mph en 3,4 secondes et atteindre un maximum de 180 mph. La Mercedes-AMG E63 S Wagon 2018 peut même faire un tour du Nürburgring en 7:45.19

Alors soyez indulgents avec moi alors que nous mettons de côté toute cette fonctionnalité, connectivité, confort, commodité et autres pour rester sous le capot pour un bon moment, et regardez avec amour ce monstre d'un moteur. Il s'agit d'une usine bi-turbo V8 AMG de 4,0 litres fabriquée à la main, avec des turbos à double volute nichés à l'intérieur du V, connu dans Mercedes-Benz comme "chaud à l'intérieur du V". Ledit moulin développe 603 chevaux et 627 lb-pi. de couple. Ils disent que le "son AMG V8 n'est peut-être pas adapté aux familles", et tout ce que je pouvais penser était "peut-être dans votre famille".

Et le reste de la transmission est tout aussi impressionnant.

Photo: MBUSA.

Traction Jackson

Le moteur est couplé à une transmission AMG SPEEDSHIFT MCT à 9 vitesses, utilisant un embrayage à bain d'huile à la place d'un convertisseur de couple; à partir de là, c'est le système de traction intégrale AMG Performance 4MATIC+ qui alimente der Bahn en puissance grâce aux quatre pneus. Le système 4MATIC+ a une répartition du couple entièrement variable entre les essieux avant et arrière. Et, étant donné les nounous numériques entre votre pied droit et le trottoir, tout ce que vous avez à faire est d'écraser la pédale forte et cette chose va avec un « G » majuscule dans toutes les conditions de route : sèche, mouillée ou enneigée. Mercedes-Benz affirme que la transition de la traction arrière à la traction intégrale et vice-versa se fait sans heurt. La répartition entre l'avant et l'arrière est contrôlée par un accouplement à régulation électromécanique, reliant l'essieu arrière à entraînement permanent de manière variable à l'essieu avant, de sorte que vous pouvez passer d'une transmission intégrale axée sur la traction à une propulsion arrière pure.

< p>Mercedes-Benz déclare sans une once d'ironie : «Il est toujours possible de dériver grâce à une répartition du couple entièrement variable.» Mercedes-Benz, le plus fermé et le plus conservateur des constructeurs automobiles, originaire d'un pays qui n'est pas exactement connu pour produire des gens comme Flavour-Flav, fabrique une voiture qui peut volontairement dériver. En effet, un mode Drift vous attend sur simple pression de (plusieurs) boutons.

Photo: MBUSA.

Freinage & Technologie de suspension

La conduite est régie par une toute nouvelle suspension pneumatique multi-chambres AMG, configurée avec un amortissement variable en continu pour des niveaux remarquablement élevés de stabilité de carrossage et de précision de direction. La rigidité du ressort pneumatique peut être ajustée sur une large plage pour améliorer le confort et la maniabilité, tout en réduisant le roulis et le tangage. L'amortissement adaptatif est disponible en trois modes sélectionnables: Confort, Sport et Sport+.

Le différentiel arrière est un système à glissement limité à commande électronique pour plus de mordant dans les courbes. Vous pouvez également choisir parmi cinq programmes AMG: Confort, Sport, Sport +, RACE et Individuel avec des paramètres essentiels tels que la réponse du moteur, la transmission, la suspension, la direction, le contrôle de la stabilité et divers réglages de la transmission intégrale.

Tu veux arrêter ? La Mercedes AMG E63 S Wagon 2018 est équipée de disques de frein avant composés ventilés et perforés de 15,4 pouces, avec des étriers fixes à six pistons. L'arrière utilise des disques de 14,2 pouces et des étriers flottants à un piston. Le système de freinage composite carbone-céramique AMG est facultatif et coûteux, mais il vous arrêtera suffisamment pour détacher une rétine. En d'autres termes, chaque centime en vaut la peine.

Cool Factor

Alors, la Mercedes-Benz AMG E63 S Wagon est-elle cool? Vous pariez que c'est cool, et aucun Miles Davis ou Bob Marley avec des spliffs de la taille d'un teckel n'est nécessaire. De plus, l'intérieur ressemble à l'antre d'un méchant de Bond. Je vais quand même garder la Coltrane.

Tony Borroz a passé toute sa vie à piloter des voitures anciennes et des voitures de sport. Il est l'auteur de

Bricks & Bones: The Endearing Legacy and Nitty-Gritty Phenomenon of The Indy 500, disponible en format de poche ou Kindle.

Galerie Mercedes-Benz AMG E63 S Wagon

Photos & Source: MBUSA.


PREV: Nouvelle famille Lotus Partie 3: Alice's New Lady Beauty

NEXT: Nouvelle famille Lotus, partie 2 : Elan intelligent et sexy

Articles populaires

Articles chauds
Retour au sommet