1. Home
  2. SUV
  3. Automoblog Book Garage: first day

Automoblog Book Garage: first day

nicad 01/12/2021 933

Author

Martyn L. Schorr

Editor

automotive books

ISBN

9780760352366

Or buy

Amazon

During my tenure with 605 magazine, I interviewed blues artist Hadden Sayers ahead of his scheduled performance in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. At one point in our conversation, he remarked that being a blues star was exactly like being a rock star, but without the fame, the girls, and the money. We laughed but Sayers taught me something valuable that day; something that has served me well throughout my career.

You do things because you love them and because you are passionate about them. Blues are like that. Automobiles too. But really, anything can be like this, if we let it.

Living The Dream

Bold Tones & Big Cars

Author

Day One Gallery

Living The Dream

Day One reaffirms why I continue to invest the way I do in my automotive career. The book reminds me why I no longer diversified my writing (against some advice) and wrote strictly for this publication, in addition to helping to manage and direct it. I do it because I love cars and I love talking to people about them. And as we begin a new year, books like Day One can inspire us, whatever our chosen career fields, whatever our pursuits and passions.

In the foreword, Joe Oldham recalls the day he received his first red GTO convertible loan. He calls it a life-defining moment when Pontiac's rep handed him the keys at that press event in Los Angeles. Driving it along the Pacific Coast Highway would only reinforce this life-defining notion. Oldham's passion (and guts) finally landed him at Magnum Royal Publications in 1965, just at the dawn of the muscle car era.

"How did a stupid kid from Brooklyn end up with such a cool gig?" he writes. “If you were a car guy, like I was from childhood, that was a dream job.”

Bold Tones & Big Cars

Oldham shares the mentorship of Marty Schorr, author of Day One and then editorial director of Magnum Royal Publications. Since Hi-Performance CARS derived its revenue from newsstand sales as opposed to advertising, its obligation was that the reader pay for the publication. And honesty was the policy, especially if a given car had flaws or was overhyped in its marketing. It was less politically correct than rival publications, instead being written by, as Oldham puts it, "the wise outlaws of New York". experiences with some of the greatest cars ever made. Schorr tells us the inside stories of the cars we love and dream of owning. Some of our favorites in the book include Pontiac's 1962 and 1963 Super-Duty 421 street and Swiss Cheese lightweight models, Chevrolet's 1963 Mystery Motor big block 427, Ford's 1963 Galaxie fastback, the Cotton-Owens Hemi Coronet and Plymouth's original 1968 Hemi Road Runner. .

Oldham died in October. Remembering his longtime friend, Schorr paid a fitting tribute, saying he was still impressed with Oldham's knowledge and skill. In many ways, the title of this book – Day One – is apt. It's a new year and that means new promises. Guys like Oldham looked at the world this way when it came to pursuing what they were most passionate about: it wasn't a day, but rather a day.

Day One: An Automotive Journalist's Muscle Car Memoir is available on Amazon and Motorbooks.

Author

Martyn L. Schorr has a history with high performance cars dating back to the beginning of Ford's total performance era more than fifty years ago. . He rode with Carroll Shelby and was at the press conference in New York for the debut of the Lola-built Ford GT that became the GT40. Schorr drove the GT40 through the streets of New York and accompanied Mickey Thompson to Bonneville in 1969 to set a book full of records. Schorr is the author of Total Performance and Motion Performance, both published by Motorbooks.

Day One Gallery


PREV: Is Kia's extended warranty worth it? (2021)

NEXT: Is Lincoln's Extended Warranty Worth It? (2021)

Popular Articles

Hot Articles
Back to Top

1. Accueil
  2. Suv
  3. Automoblog Book Garage : premier jour

Automoblog Book Garage : premier jour

nicad 01/12/2021 934

Auteur

Martyn L. Schorr

Éditeur

Livres automobiles

ISBN

9780760352366

Où acheter

Amazon

Au cours de mon mandat avec le magazine 605, j'ai interviewé l'artiste de blues Hadden Sayers avant sa performance prévue à Sioux Falls, dans le Dakota du Sud. À un moment de notre conversation, il a remarqué qu'être une star du blues était exactement comme être une rock star, mais sans la célébrité, les filles et l'argent. Nous avons ri mais Sayers m'a appris quelque chose de précieux ce jour-là ; quelque chose qui m'a bien servi tout au long de ma carrière.

Vous faites des choses parce que vous les aimez et parce qu'elles vous passionnent. Les bleus sont comme ça. Les automobiles aussi. Mais vraiment, tout peut être ainsi, si nous le laissons faire.

Living The Dream

Bold Tones & Big Cars

Auteur

Galerie Day One

Living The Dream

Day One réaffirme pourquoi je continue à investir comme je le fais dans ma carrière automobile. Le livre me rappelle pourquoi je n'ai plus diversifié mon écriture (contre l'avis de certains) et écrit strictement pour cette publication, en plus d'aider à la gérer et à la diriger. Je le fais parce que j'aime les voitures et j'aime en parler aux gens. Et alors que nous commençons une nouvelle année, des livres comme Day One peuvent nous inspirer, quels que soient nos domaines de carrière choisis, quelles que soient nos activités et nos passions.

Dans l'avant-propos, Joe Oldham se souvient du jour où il a reçu son premier rouge Prêt de cabriolet GTO. Il appelle cela un moment déterminant pour la vie lorsque le représentant de Pontiac lui a remis les clés lors de cet événement presse à Los Angeles. Le conduire le long de la Pacific Coast Highway ne ferait que renforcer cette notion déterminante pour la vie. La passion (et les tripes) d'Oldham l'ont finalement fait atterrir chez Magnum Royal Publications en 1965, juste à l'aube de l'ère des muscle cars.

«Comment un gamin stupide de Brooklyn a-t-il fini avec un concert aussi cool?» il écrit. «Si vous étiez un gars de la voiture, comme je l'étais depuis mon enfance, c'était un travail de rêve.»

Bold Tones & Big Cars

Oldham partage le mentorat de Marty Schorr, auteur de Day One, puis directeur éditorial de Magnum Royal Publications. Étant donné que Hi-Performance CARS tirait ses revenus des ventes en kiosque par rapport à la publicité, son obligation était que le lecteur paie pour la publication. Et l'honnêteté était la politique, surtout si une voiture donnée avait des défauts ou était trop médiatisée dans sa commercialisation. C'était moins politiquement correct que les publications rivales, au lieu d'être écrit par, comme le dit Oldham, les "hors-la-loi sages de New York". expériences avec certaines des plus grandes voitures jamais fabriquées. Schorr nous raconte les histoires intérieures des voitures que nous aimons et rêvons de posséder. Certains de nos favoris dans le livre incluent les modèles Super-Duty 421 street et Swiss Cheese légers de Pontiac de 1962 et 1963, le gros bloc 427 Mystery Motor de Chevrolet de 1963, le fastback Galaxie de Ford de 1963, le Cotton-Owens Hemi Coronet et l'original 1968 Hemi Road Runner de Plymouth. .

Oldham est décédé en octobre. En se souvenant de son ami de longue date, Schorr a rendu un hommage approprié, affirmant qu'il était toujours impressionné par les connaissances et les compétences d'Oldham. À bien des égards, le titre de ce livre – Day One – est approprié. C'est une nouvelle année et cela signifie de nouvelles promesses. Des gars comme Oldham regardaient le monde dans ce sens lorsqu'il s'agissait de poursuivre ce qui les passionnait le plus: ce n'était pas un jour, mais plutôt un jour.

Premier jour: la voiture musclée d'un journaliste automobile Memoir est disponible sur Amazon et Motorbooks.

Auteur

Martyn L. Schorr a une histoire avec les voitures hautes performances qui remonte au début de l'ère de la performance totale de Ford il y a plus de cinquante ans. . Il a roulé avec Carroll Shelby et était à la conférence de presse à New York pour les débuts de la Ford GT construite par Lola qui est devenue la GT40. Schorr a conduit la GT40 dans les rues de New York et a accompagné Mickey Thompson à Bonneville en 1969 pour établir un livre plein de records. Schorr est l'auteur de Total Performance et Motion Performance, tous deux publiés par Motorbooks.

Day One Gallery


PREV: La garantie prolongée de Kia en vaut-elle la peine ? (2021)

NEXT: La garantie prolongée de Lincoln en vaut-elle la peine ? (2021)

Articles populaires

Articles chauds
Retour au sommet