1. Home
  2. New energy
  3. You're Not Really Riding the Waves: The Self-Driving Car Analogy

You're Not Really Riding the Waves: The Self-Driving Car Analogy

nicad 12/05/2022 181

Will self-driving cars take away the fun and enjoyment of driving? Vous ne surfez pas vraiment sur les vagues : l'analogie avec les voitures autonomes

What will happen to those who like to drive alone?

Automoblog columnist Tony Borroz with a perspective.

Recently I read and reviewed a very well done book on the future of automated cars and driving. While going through the review, I had to consider my own thoughts on automation and what it means to me as a car enthusiast. Unsurprisingly, I'm not a huge fan, but not the complete opposite either. It's just that, overall, self-driving cars seem like an answer to a question that I (and many other gearheads) never asked.

Who likes to drive anyway?

Automated Cars & Surf Safaris

Catch the waves via a smartphone

Play or sit on the sidelines

To defend the conduct

Who likes to drive anyway?< /p>

90 percent of my beef with self-driving cars comes down to one case. A few years ago, I attended a press conference with Google executives about their new self-driving car program. One of them, Brin or someone else, I can't remember who, said, “Seriously: who really likes driving a car? And therein lies our particular problem, and the biggest “problem” that technology brings with all its disruptive “solutions”.

The biggest failure of technology, circa 2019, is the way they think they solve problems; but they never realize that they don't fully understand a given problem. Take this quote: “Seriously: who really likes to drive a car? Obviously, it was spoken by someone who didn't like driving a car. Ergo, since he didn't like it, why anyone else? Well, thank you for coming to my rescue, but I was fine, and specifically, I didn't ask you to save me.

Here is my analogy for why this is both philosophically and logically the wrong way to go.

Photo: Hyundai Motor America.

Automated Cars & Surfing Safaris

Imagine a techie—smart, rich, overworked, thinks he's a godsend to the world—finally forced to take a vacation after solid months of programming from his office in Mountain View or Redmond or Boston. For some reason, he goes to Hawaii. Someone takes him to the North Shore and shows him what surfing is.

I picked a good day. The sunset is huge, Waimea could go out and Pipeline shoots, 16-18 feet and glassy. A wave comes up, a guy catches it, makes the drop, knocks it off the lip, comes back down for another lower turn and boom!, hooks a rail and clears. He stands there, zinc sunscreen on his nose, Teva sandals with socks, every inch of nerd haole.

“Do they always fall like this?” asks the technician.

“Most of the time, yes. It's not easy brah!" said the local as he led her away.

The technical brother then has a brainstorming session.

Catch the waves via a smartphone

A year later, he returned to La Côte-Nord. This time with his new start-up in tow. They rent the Volcom House (money is not an issue). They have a launch party to end all the parties. Kalua pork, three-fingered poi, Kim Taylor Reece shoots, they even get Jake Shimabukuro to play (because money isn't an issue for the tech bros). And then comes the big moment: the big reveal.

He pulls off the covers and shows off his new invention: the fully automatic surfboard!

He enters his pitch. “Our newest surfboard, the SrfRyder, is the world's first fully automated surfboard! With miniaturized water jet motors and ring gyroscope stabilization, just tap your smartphone to catch and ride the waves. You'll never miss a wave again. You'll never fall halfway again. You will be able to catch any wave you see and you will be able to ride any wave you catch. By using our Waterman smartphone app. . . blah blah blah. . .”

Last year, Hagerty began hosting a series of town hall talks about the importance of driving. Self-driving vehicles and their impact on society was one of the first discussions, with Wayne Carini of Chasing Classic Cars and former General Motors Vice President Bob Lutz as panelists.

Play against sitting on the sidelines

< p> Admittedly, this is just a story and an analogy. It would never happen. Do you know why that would never happen? Because if a machine does it for you, you're not surfing. And the point of surfing isn't to travel from the line to the beach while standing up, no. The purpose of surfing is to surf. To catch a wave yourself and then ride it as you see fit, and to the best of your ability. If a machine does it for you, you're not a surfer, you're just floating. You don't really ride those waves.

Same with automated cars. You go for it, but you're not actually engaged in the joys and thrills of driving.

For the defense of driving

And sure, one day there might be a tech bro standing on a beach, seeing a guy who just got back to work after losing him at Pipe, and the tech bro might be like, "Seriously: who really likes to surf? " And it's good. He is entitled to his opinion. But woe to him if he ever had to build something like an automated surfboard. It completely misses what a surfboard is.

And for some of us, driving is like that. I have no problem using a self-driving car the same way I have no problem taking a taxi or a bus. Don't make me.

Tony Borroz has spent his whole life racing vintage cars and sports cars. He is the author of

Bricks & Bones: The Endearing Legacy and Nitty-Gritty Phenomenon of The Indy 500, available in paperback or Kindle.

Follow his work on Twitter: @TonyBorroz.

Cover photo: Volvo Car Team.


PREV: Letter from UK: F-Pace changes

NEXT: Letter from the UK: lead our lives

Popular Articles

Hot Articles
Back to Top

1. Accueil
  2. New energy
  3. Vous ne surfez pas vraiment sur les vagues : l'analogie avec les voitures autonomes

Vous ne surfez pas vraiment sur les vagues : l'analogie avec les voitures autonomes

nicad 12/05/2022 382

Les voitures autonomes enlèveront-elles le plaisir et le plaisir de conduire?Vous ne surfez pas vraiment sur les vagues : l'analogie avec les voitures autonomes

Qu'arrivera-t-il à ceux qui aiment conduire seuls?

Le chroniqueur d'Automoblog Tony Borroz avec une perspective.

Récemment, j'ai lu et revu un livre très bien fait sur l'avenir des voitures et de la conduite automatisées. Tout en parcourant l'examen, j'ai dû examiner mes propres réflexions sur l'automatisation et ce que cela signifie pour moi en tant que passionné de voiture. Sans surprise, je ne suis pas un grand fan, mais pas complètement opposé non plus. C'est juste que, dans l'ensemble, les voitures autonomes semblent être une réponse à une question que moi (et beaucoup d'autres réducteurs) n'ai jamais posée.

Qui aime conduire de toute façon?

Automatisé Voitures & Surf Safaris

Attraper les vagues via un smartphone

Jouer ou rester assis sur la touche

Pour défendre la conduite

Qui aime conduire de toute façon?< /p>

90 pour cent de mon boeuf avec les voitures autonomes se résume à un cas. Il y a quelques années, j'ai assisté à une conférence de presse avec des dirigeants de Google au sujet de leur nouveau programme de voitures autonomes. L'un d'eux, Brin ou quelqu'un d'autre, je ne me souviens plus qui, a dit : « Sérieusement : qui aime vraiment conduire une voiture ? Et c'est là que réside notre problème en particulier, et le plus grand «problème» que la technologie apporte avec toutes ses «solutions» perturbatrices.

Le plus gros échec de la technologie, vers2019, est la façon dont ils pensent ils résolvent des problèmes ; mais ils ne se rendent jamais compte qu'ils ne comprennent pas pleinement un problème donné. Prenez cette citation : « Sérieusement : qui aime vraiment conduire une voiture ? De toute évidence, cela a été prononcé par quelqu'un qui n'aimait pas conduire une voiture. Ergo, puisqu'il n'a pas apprécié ça, pourquoi quelqu'un d'autre ? Eh bien, merci d'être venu à mon secours, mais j'allais très bien et, plus précisément, je ne vous ai pas demandé de me sauver.

Voici mon analogie pour expliquer pourquoi c'est à la fois philosophique et logiquement le mauvais chemin à suivre.

Photo: Hyundai Motor America.

Automated Cars & Surfing Safaris

Imaginez qu'un technicien - intelligent, riche, surmené, pense qu'il est un cadeau divin pour le monde - est finalement obligé de prendre des vacances après de solides mois de programmation depuis son bureau à Mountain View ou Redmond ou Boston. Pour une raison quelconque, il se rend à Hawaï. Quelqu'un l'emmène sur la Côte-Nord et lui montre ce qu'est le surf.

J'ai choisi une bonne journée. Le coucher de soleil est énorme, Waimea pourrait s'éteindre et Pipeline tire, de 16 à 18 pieds et vitreux. Une vague monte, un gars l'attrape, fait la chute, la fait tomber de la lèvre, redescend pour un autre tour inférieur et boum !, accroche un rail et efface. Il se tient là, de la crème solaire au zinc sur le nez, des sandales Teva avec des chaussettes, chaque centimètre du nerd haole.

«Est-ce qu'ils tombent toujours comme ça?» demande le technicien.

« La plupart du temps, oui. Ce n'est pas facile brah!" dit le local en l'emmenant.

Le frère technique a ensuite une session de remue-méninges.

Attraper les vagues via un smartphone

Un an plus tard, il revient à La Côte-Nord. Cette fois avec sa nouvelle start-up en remorque. Ils louent la Volcom House (l'argent n'est pas un problème). Ils ont une fête de lancement pour mettre fin à toutes les fêtes. Porc Kalua, poi à trois doigts, Kim Taylor Reece prend des photos, ils font même jouer Jake Shimabukuro (parce que l'argent n'est pas un problème pour les frères techniques). Et puis arrive le grand moment: le grand dévoilement.

Il retire les couvertures et montre sa nouvelle invention: la planche de surf entièrement automatique!

Il entre dans son pitch. « Notre nouvelle planche de surf, la SrfRyder, est la première planche de surf entièrement automatisée au monde ! Avec des moteurs à jet d'eau miniaturisés et une stabilisation par gyroscope annulaire, il suffit d'appuyer sur votre smartphone pour attraper et surfer sur les vagues. Vous ne manquerez plus jamais une vague. Vous ne tomberez plus jamais, à mi-chemin. Vous pourrez attraper n'importe quelle vague que vous verrez et vous pourrez surfer sur n'importe quelle vague que vous attraperez. En utilisant notre application pour smartphone Waterman. . . bla bla bla. . .»

L'année dernière, Hagerty a commencé à organiser une série de discussions à l'hôtel de ville sur l'importance de la conduite. Les véhicules autonomes et leur impact sur la société ont été l'une des premières discussions, avec Wayne Carini de Chasing Classic Cars et l'ancien vice-président de General Motors Bob Lutz en tant que panélistes.

Jouer contre assis sur la touche

< p> Certes, ce n'est qu'une histoire et une analogie. Cela n'arriverait jamais. Vous savez pourquoi cela n'arriverait jamais ? Parce que si une machine le fait pour vous, vous ne surfez pas. Et le but du surf n'est pas de voyager de la ligne jusqu'à la plage en étant debout, non. Le but du surf est de surfer. Pour attraper une vague vous-même et ensuite la surfer comme bon vous semble, et au mieux de vos capacités. Si une machine le fait pour vous, vous n'êtes pas un surfeur, vous flottez simplement. Vous ne surfez pas vraiment sur ces vagues.

Idem avec les voitures automatisées. Vous y allez, mais vous n'êtes pas réellement engagé dans les joies et les sensations fortes de la conduite.

Pour la défense de la conduite

Et bien sûr, un jour, il pourrait y avoir un frère technique debout sur une plage, voir un gars qui vient de travailler après l'avoir perdu à Pipe, et le frère technique pourrait se dire : "Sérieusement : qui aime vraiment surfer ?" Et c'est bien. Il a droit à son opinion. Mais malheur à lui s'il devait un jour fabriquer quelque chose comme une planche de surf automatisée. Cela passe complètement à côté de ce qu'est une planche de surf.

Et pour certains d'entre nous, la conduite est ainsi. Je n'ai aucun problème à utiliser une voiture autonome de la même manière que je n'ai aucun problème à prendre un taxi ou un bus. Ne m'y oblige pas.

Tony Borroz a passé toute sa vie à piloter des voitures anciennes et des voitures de sport. Il est l'auteur de

Bricks & Bones: The Endearing Legacy and Nitty-Gritty Phenomenon of The Indy 500, disponible en format de poche ou Kindle.

Suivez son travail sur Twitter : @TonyBorroz.

Photo de couverture : Volvo Car Équipe.


PREV: Lettre du Royaume-Uni : changements F-Pace

NEXT: Lettre du Royaume-Uni : conduire nos vies

Articles populaires

Articles chauds
Retour au sommet