1. Home
  2. New Energy
  3. Three companies changing the autonomous driving landscape

Three companies changing the autonomous driving landscape

nicad 20/04/2022 544

Last month we participated in the first AutoSens Detroit event held in Hall M1. In short, AutoSens brings together the world's top engineers, researchers and other authority figures in the field of vehicle sensing technology and autonomous driving. Here, people engaged in this technology can integrate with the network, communication and ultimately solve the real challenge. The organizer believes that for our cars to connect successfully, people working in space must connect successfully. Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

The M1 Concourse field walk proved to be very informative and informative, from the various companies in attendance displaying their latest vehicle perception technology, to the self-driving vehicle demonstrations taking place on the facility's runway. It didn't take long to realize that the organizers of AutoSens had invited big players, many of them small companies disrupting the space with their new approaches to automated technology.

Here are three companies we've met to change the way we think about self-driving vehicles.

Imatest

Dataspeed

XenomatiX Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

new horizons

Imatest

Imatest, based in Colorado, provides unbiased image quality testing for a number of industries including mobile electronics, security, medical imaging and automotive. The company provides detailed software, test charts and advice for a customer's imaging needs, whether it's a camera phone or a satellite. Some companies create their own in-house camera testing software, but often, to their dismay, find inconsistencies. Imatest assists customers here so that they don't waste valuable time developing their product range.

With driverless cars, the implication is huge as cameras will play a vital role in the future autonomous world. For autonomy to deliver on its promise of reduced crashes and fatalities, image quality is critical. Imatest takes this into consideration as today's automotive trends push us further towards autonomy.

“Companies that put a camera in their product, like a rear view camera in a car, try to find a way to optimize those. products," said Jeff Herman, CEO. “Our software and graphics can test the image quality of this particular camera.” Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

Photo: Imatest.

When it comes to automotive applications, special attention is paid to dynamic range and light quality. For example, if a car pulls out of a dark garage and heads into the bright sun, there will be a sudden change in lighting conditions. However, the camera must see perfectly despite everything. Maybe a child is playing in the driveway? For a camera to work well as a security device, it must decipher vital details quickly and in a variety of lighting conditions. Imatest's unique software and "eye-seeing" graphs indicate the image quality of a particular camera before it was installed in the vehicle.

“The camera takes an image of the test pattern, our software recognizes the image and can tell you how sharp that image is,” Herman explained. “It tells us how sharp it is, how the colors are, is there any distortion or noise, is it as sharp in the left corner as it is in the center, etc. We can test these image quality factors through our software. »

Photo: Imatest.

Imatest Master was specifically designed for the growing trend of camera usage and the pressure companies feel to produce. cameras at a fast pace, each with higher image quality and more features than before. With autonomous driving, the implications are once again huge. The automotive industry is rapidly changing as it is, but lately the development of autonomous technology has taken off like a rocket. Some consumers may worry that the speed at which technology is changing means that not all bugs are quite fixed. Imatest Master solves this problem at the image quality level for automated vehicle cameras, providing over 30 different test charts to measure and analyze color, tone, sharpness and other important factors. Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

“Road systems have been designed for years so that we drivers can examine the scene ahead,” Herman added. “Cameras need to see visible light faster than our eyes to be able to observe the scene in the same way.”

Photo: Imatest.

Dataspeed

Michigan-based Dataspeed is unique, especially in the how and why of the company's existence. One of the things needed to get consumers to embrace automated driving is to humanize the technology – to take all the gadgets, sensors, cameras and modules and attach meaning to them that ordinary people can understand. Dataspeed has become a master in this field through an unfortunate tragedy. The company's chairman and CEO, Paul Fleck, has lost his dear cousin Mary in a tragic accident.

“Mary pulled out into oncoming traffic and suffered a side collision. Her view was obstructed due to the terrain and she did not see the oncoming vehicle,” Fleck explained. “If V2V (Vehicle to Vehicle Technology) had been available at the time, these two vehicles would have communicated and she would have been aware of the oncoming vehicle, even though she could not see it.” Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

With the relative newness of self-driving, there will be questions from the car-buying public. And not all buyers will understand (or even want) the deep engineering behind vehicle perception technology. However, what will resonate with them is the loss of a loved one. As the autonomous landscape grows, Dataspeed can understand and even meet consumers where they are.

"I tell my team that their work will save someone's life one day, although we will never know that person's name," Fleck said. “Anyone working on autonomous vehicles is, in some way, moving forward in the timeline where cars will be safer to drive, and that will lead to fewer fatal accidents.”

Photo: Carl Anthony for Automoblog.net.

Dataspeed's ADAS (Advanced Driver Assistance System) kit optimizes the development of autonomous vehicles. The ADAS kit takes control of the accelerator, brakes, steering and gear shifting, to facilitate the testing of sensors and other elements related to autonomous vehicle applications. Let's say I'm developing a particular sensor or algorithm, or maybe even a whole autonomous vehicle system. I installed the ADAS kit, including drive-by-wire hardware, power distribution system, and vehicle network interfaces, so that I can continue to develop my sensor, algorithm, or autonomous system. Using Dataspeed's kit, I am able to save time and perform much more efficient testing, as the aforementioned vehicle systems are already covered.

“We recognized early on that the autonomous vehicle community needed a safe, reliable and economical vehicle. effective development vehicle,” Fleck said. "We then developed a complete turnkey system that works in a Lincoln MKZ or Ford Fusion/Mondeo that provides computer control of the vehicle's throttle, brake, steering and shift systems, and is the basis for a fully autonomous development vehicle.” Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

Currently, there are more than 100 vehicles equipped with Dataspeed's ADAS kit, and the company is working on the development of core algorithms and new hardware products.

“Dataspeed engineers are constantly thinking about ways to help,” Fleck said. “No matter what we develop and produce, it will be as safe, reliable and cost-effective as our ADAS kit.”

Photo: Carl Anthony for Automoblog.net.

XenomatiX

Leuven, Belgium is a region synonymous with innovation and XenomatiX is no exception, a high-tech company focused on automotive vision solutions. After studying OEM requirements, Xenomatix developed an advanced form of LiDAR, or Light Detection and Ranging. LiDAR measures the distance to a particular point by illuminating it with pulsed laser light; the reflected pulses are then measured to determine how far away said point is. From there, 3D representations of the point and the surrounding area can be made. Bats actually use a similar process with sound waves to navigate. Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

“Our LiDAR solution can calculate the 3D geometry of the car's surroundings up to a distance of 200 meters,” said Kris De Meester, Vice President Business. Development. "One of the reasons that almost everyone is convinced of LiDAR as it relates to autonomous vehicles is the range and accuracy of the measurements."

XenomatiX's laser-based solid-state vision system creates a high-resolution point cloud, giving a vehicle an accurate reading of the road and detecting all possible objects. The data that comes back to the vehicle is critical for occupant safety, especially if there are unexpected surprises ahead.

“When you leave the driving to the car, you have to know the objects around it and how far away they are,” explained De Meester. “We have a very good solution for solid-state LiDAR that is small but robust in design and low cost for mass production.”

Photo: XenomatiX.

LiDAR has advantages in how it can see through fog or distinguish irregularities in the road that might be missed by other sensors or cameras. LiDAR is known for its accuracy regardless of weather conditions or time of day, be it morning or night. However, XenomatiX takes it a step further by incorporating a unique multi-beam projector and pulsed lighting scheme. The combination allows thousands of laser spots to be projected simultaneously in a dense pattern, dramatically reducing “false alarms” by generating millions of measurements per second. In other words, it is extremely precise and such precision means greater safety for the occupants of automated vehicles. Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

“In my opinion, LiDAR will be needed for autonomous vehicles,” added De Meester.

The company also implements short- and long-range optical sensors for many of today's driver assistance and road obstacle detection systems. All XenomatiX offerings are carefully planned and based on extensive research.

“We have spoken with many OEMs because we need to know all the requirements,” explained De Meester. “A lot of engineering designs today are made around OEM requirements.”

New Horizons

Our list here is by no means exhaustive - there are many brilliant people and companies working on autonomous vehicle technology. However, as the autonomous world becomes clearer, we believe that Imatest, Dataspeed and XenomatiX, with their range of experiences and innovations, will serve us well as future autonomous drivers (or riders). Given our recent experience with AutoSens, we recommend learning more about them if you are interested in driverless vehicles and the evolution of technology. In September AutoSens returns to Brussels, Belgium with a full line-up of expert speakers, in-depth workshops and vehicle demonstrations.

“AutoSens brings together different layers of industry disciplines, from financial engineers to purely technical engineers, to higher-level management,” De Meester said. "All discuss and identify issues and challenges with automated vehicles."

Carl Anthony is the editor of Automoblog and lives in Detroit, Michigan.


PREV: America's Best Off-Road Trails & Parks: Let's Get Dirty!

NEXT: Fiat 500: still influencing design and history for 60 years

Popular Articles

Hot Articles
Back to Top

1. Accueil
  2. New energy
  3. Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

nicad 20/04/2022 545

Le mois dernier, nous avons participé au premier événement AutoSens Detroit qui s'est tenu dans le Hall M1. En bref, AutoSens rassemble les meilleurs ingénieurs, chercheurs et autres figures d'autorité au monde dans le domaine de la technologie de perception des véhicules et de la conduite autonome. Ici, les personnes engagées dans cette technologie peuvent s'intégrer au réseau, à la communication et, en fin de compte, résoudre le véritable défi à relever. L'organisateur estime que pour que nos voitures se connectent avec succès, les personnes travaillant dans l'espace doivent se connecter avec succès.Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

La marche sur le terrain du M1 Concourse s'est avérée très instructive et instructive, de la part des différentes entreprises présentes affichant leur dernière technologie de perception des véhicules, aux démonstrations de véhicules autonomes qui se déroulent sur la piste de l'installation. Il n'a pas fallu longtemps pour se rendre compte que les organisateurs d'AutoSens avaient invité de gros joueurs, dont beaucoup sont de petites entreprises perturbant l'espace avec leurs nouvelles approches de la technologie automatisée.

Voici trois entreprises que nous avons rencontrées pour changer la façon dont nous pensons aux véhicules autonomes.

Imatest

Dataspeed

XenomatiXTrois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

New Horizons

Imatest

Imatest, basée au Colorado, fournit des tests de qualité d'image impartiaux pour un certain nombre d'industries, notamment l'électronique mobile, la sécurité, l'imagerie médicale et l'automobile. La société fournit des logiciels détaillés, des graphiques de test et des conseils relatifs aux besoins d'imagerie d'un client, qu'il s'agisse d'un téléphone appareil photo ou d'un satellite. Certaines entreprises créent leur propre logiciel de test de caméras en interne, mais souvent, à leur grand désarroi, trouvent des incohérences. Imatest assiste les clients ici afin qu'ils ne perdent pas un temps précieux à développer leur gamme de produits.

Avec les voitures sans conducteur, l'implication est énorme car les caméras joueront un rôle essentiel dans le futur monde autonome. Pour que l'autonomie tienne ses promesses de réduction des collisions et des accidents mortels, la qualité de l'image est essentielle. Imatest prend cela en considération alors que les tendances automobiles d'aujourd'hui nous poussent davantage vers l'autonomie.

«Les entreprises qui intègrent une caméra dans leur produit, comme une caméra de recul dans une voiture, essaient de trouver un moyen d'optimiser celles-ci. produits », a déclaré Jeff Herman, chef de la direction. «Notre logiciel et nos graphiques peuvent tester la qualité d'image de cette caméra particulière.»Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

Photo: Imatest.

En ce qui concerne les applications automobiles, une attention particulière est accordée à la plage dynamique et à la qualité de la lumière. Par exemple, si une voiture sort d'un garage sombre et se dirige vers le soleil éclatant, il y aura un changement soudain des conditions d'éclairage. Cependant, la caméra doit voir parfaitement malgré tout. Peut-être qu'un enfant joue dans l'allée ? Pour qu'une caméra fonctionne correctement en tant que dispositif de sécurité, elle doit déchiffrer les détails vitaux rapidement et dans diverses conditions d'éclairage. Le logiciel unique d'Imatest et les graphiques «voyant de l'œil» indiquent la qualité de l'image d'une caméra particulière avant son installation dans le véhicule.

«La caméra prend une image de la mire de test, notre logiciel reconnaît l'image et peut vous dire à quel point cette image est nette », a expliqué Herman. «Cela nous dit à quel point il est précis, comment sont les couleurs, y a-t-il une distorsion ou du bruit, est-il aussi net dans le coin gauche qu'au centre, etc. Nous pouvons tester ces facteurs de qualité d'image via notre logiciel. »

Photo: Imatest.

Imatest Master a été spécialement conçu pour la tendance croissante de l'utilisation des appareils photo et la pression que les entreprises ressentent pour produire. caméras à un rythme rapide, chacune avec une qualité d'image supérieure et plus de fonctionnalités qu'auparavant. Avec la conduite autonome, les implications sont encore une fois énormes. L'industrie automobile évolue rapidement telle quelle, mais ces derniers temps, le développement de la technologie autonome a décollé comme une fusée. Certains consommateurs peuvent craindre que la vitesse à laquelle la technologie évolue signifie que tous les bogues ne sont pas tout à fait résolus. Imatest Master résout ce problème au niveau de la qualité d'image pour les caméras automatisées des véhicules, en fournissant plus de 30 tableaux de test différents pour mesurer et analyser la couleur, le ton, la netteté et d'autres facteurs importants.Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

«Les systèmes routiers ont été conçus pour années pour que nous, les conducteurs, puissions examiner la scène à venir », a ajouté Herman. «Les caméras doivent voir la lumière visible plus rapidement que nos yeux pour pouvoir observer la scène de la même manière.»

Photo: Imatest.

Dataspeed

Michigan -based Dataspeed est unique, notamment en ce qui concerne le comment et le pourquoi de l'existence de l'entreprise. L'une des choses nécessaires pour amener les consommateurs à adopter la conduite automatisée est d'humaniser la technologie - de prendre tous les gadgets, capteurs, caméras et modules et d'y associer un sens que les gens ordinaires peuvent comprendre. Dataspeed est passé maître dans ce domaine par le biais d'une malheureuse tragédie. Le président-directeur général de l'entreprise, Paul Fleck, a perdu sa chère cousine Mary dans un tragique accident.

«Mary s'est retirée dans la circulation venant en sens inverse et a subi une collision latérale. Sa vue était obstruée en raison du terrain et elle n'a pas vu le véhicule venant en sens inverse », a expliqué Fleck. «Si la technologie V2V (Vehicle to Vehicle Technology) avait été disponible à l'époque, ces deux véhicules auraient communiqué et elle aurait été au courant du véhicule venant en sens inverse, même si elle ne pouvait pas le voir.»Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

Avec la relative nouveauté de la conduite autonome, il y aura des questions du public acheteur de voitures. Et tous les acheteurs ne comprendront pas (ou ne voudront même pas) l'ingénierie approfondie derrière la technologie de perception des véhicules. Cependant, ce qui résonnera en eux, c'est la perte d'un être cher. Au fur et à mesure que le paysage autonome se développe, Dataspeed peut comprendre et même rencontrer les consommateurs là où ils se trouvent.

«Je dis à mon équipe que leur travail permettra de sauver la vie de quelqu'un un jour, bien que nous ne sachions jamais le nom de cette personne, », a déclaré Fleck. «Quiconque travaille sur des véhicules autonomes avance, d'une certaine manière, dans la chronologie où les voitures seront plus sûres à conduire, et cela entraînera moins d'accidents mortels.»

Photo: Carl Anthony pour Automoblog.net.

Le kit ADAS (Advanced Driver Assistance System) de Dataspeed permet d'optimiser le développement de véhicules autonomes. Le kit ADAS prend le contrôle de l'accélérateur, des freins, de la direction et du changement de vitesse, pour faciliter le test des capteurs et d'autres éléments liés aux applications de véhicules autonomes. Disons que je développe un capteur ou un algorithme particulier, ou peut-être même un système de véhicule autonome complet. J'ai installé le kit ADAS, y compris le matériel drive-by-wire, le système de distribution d'énergie et les interfaces réseau du véhicule, afin que je puisse continuer à développer mon capteur, mon algorithme ou mon système autonome. Grâce au kit de Dataspeed, je suis en mesure de gagner du temps et d'effectuer des tests beaucoup plus efficaces, car les systèmes de véhicules susmentionnés sont déjà couverts.

«Nous avons reconnu très tôt que la communauté des véhicules autonomes avait besoin d'un véhicule sûr, fiable et économique. véhicule de développement efficace », a déclaré Fleck. «Nous avons ensuite développé un système clé en main complet qui fonctionne dans une Lincoln MKZ ou une Ford Fusion/Mondeo qui permet le contrôle informatique des systèmes d'accélérateur, de freinage, de direction et de changement de vitesse du véhicule, et constitue la base d'un véhicule de développement entièrement autonome.» Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

Actuellement, il y a plus de 100 véhicules équipés du kit ADAS de Dataspeed, et la société travaille sur le développement d'algorithmes de base et de nouveaux produits matériels.

"Les ingénieurs de Dataspeed réfléchissent constamment sur les moyens d'aider », a déclaré Fleck. "Peu importe ce que nous développons et produisons, il sera aussi sûr, fiable et rentable que notre kit ADAS."

Photo: Carl Anthony pour Automoblog.net.

XenomatiX

Louvain, en Belgique, est une région synonyme d'innovation et XenomatiX ne fait pas exception, une entreprise de haute technologie axée sur les solutions de vision automobile. Après avoir étudié les exigences OEM, Xenomatix a développé une forme avancée de LiDAR, ou Light Detection and Ranging. LiDAR mesure la distance à un point particulier en l'éclairant avec une lumière laser pulsée ; les impulsions réfléchies sont ensuite mesurées pour déterminer à quelle distance se trouve ledit point. À partir de là, des représentations 3D du point et de la zone environnante peuvent être réalisées. Les chauves-souris utilisent en fait un processus similaire avec des ondes sonores pour naviguer.Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

«Notre solution LiDAR peut calculer la géométrie 3D de l'environnement de la voiture jusqu'à une distance de 200mètres», a déclaré Kris De Meester, vice-président des affaires. Développement. "L'une des raisons pour lesquelles presque tout le monde est convaincu du LiDAR en ce qui concerne les véhicules autonomes est la portée et la précision des mesures."

Le système de vision à l'état solide basé sur le laser de XenomatiX crée un nuage de points haute résolution, donner à un véhicule une lecture précise de la route et détecter tous les objets possibles. Les données qui reviennent au véhicule sont essentielles pour la sécurité des occupants, surtout s'il y a des surprises inattendues à venir.

«Lorsque vous laissez la conduite à la voiture, vous devez connaître les objets qui l'entourent et à quelle distance ils le sont », a expliqué De Meester. «Nous avons une très bonne solution pour le LiDAR à semi-conducteurs qui est de conception petite mais robuste et à faible coût pour la production en série.»

Photo: XenomatiX.

Le LiDAR présente des avantages dans la façon dont il peut voir à travers le brouillard ou distinguer les irrégularités de la route qui pourraient être manquées par d'autres capteurs ou caméras. Le LiDAR est connu pour sa précision quelles que soient les conditions météorologiques ou l'heure de la journée, que ce soit le matin ou la nuit. Cependant, XenomatiX va encore plus loin en incorporant un projecteur multifaisceaux unique et un schéma d'éclairage pulsé. La combinaison permet la projection simultanée de milliers de spots laser dans un motif dense, ce qui réduit considérablement les « fausses alarmes » en générant des millions de mesures par seconde. En d'autres termes, il est extrêmement précis et une telle précision signifie une plus grande sécurité pour les occupants des véhicules automatisés.Trois entreprises qui changent le paysage de la conduite autonome

« À mon avis, le LiDAR sera nécessaire pour les véhicules autonomes », a ajouté De Meester.

Le La société met également en œuvre des capteurs optiques à courte et longue portée pour de nombreux systèmes d'assistance à la conduite et de détection d'obstacles routiers actuels. Toutes les offres de XenomatiX sont soigneusement planifiées et basées sur des recherches approfondies.

« Nous avons discuté avec de nombreux OEM car nous devons connaître toutes les exigences », a expliqué De Meester. «Beaucoup de conceptions techniques d'aujourd'hui sont réalisées autour des exigences OEM.»

Nouveaux horizons

Notre liste ici n'est en aucun cas exhaustive - il existe de nombreuses personnes et entreprises brillantes qui travaillent sur l'autonomie technologie du véhicule. Cependant, à mesure que le monde autonome devient plus clair, nous pensons qu'Imatest, Dataspeed et XenomatiX, avec leur gamme d'expériences et d'innovations, nous seront utiles en tant que futurs conducteurs (ou motards) autonomes. Compte tenu de notre récente expérience chez AutoSens, nous vous recommandons d'en apprendre davantage à leur sujet si vous êtes intéressé par les véhicules sans conducteur et par l'évolution de la technologie. En septembre, AutoSens revient à Bruxelles, en Belgique, avec une gamme complète de conférenciers experts, d'ateliers approfondis et de démonstrations de véhicules.

«AutoSens rassemble différentes couches de disciplines industrielles, des ingénieurs financiers aux ingénieurs purement techniques, à une direction de plus haut niveau », a déclaré De Meester. "Tous discutent et identifient les problèmes et les défis liés aux véhicules automatisés."

Carl Anthony est le rédacteur en chef d'Automoblog et vit à Detroit, Michigan.


PREV: Les meilleurs sentiers et parcs hors route des États-Unis : soyons sales !

NEXT: Fiat 500 : influence toujours le design et l'histoire depuis 60 ans

Articles populaires

Articles chauds
Retour au sommet