1. Home
  2. New Energy
  3. McLaren 720S GT3X: your official track day monster is here!

McLaren 720S GT3X: your official track day monster is here!

nicad 30/03/2022 565

When a racing company produces road cars, or even better racing cars, it's always worth paying attention to. Of course, you can play with a Honda Civic to be able to drive on the local track. But when someone like McLaren says, "Come on, let us carve you a right angle," you better watch out.

McLaren 720S GT3X: Guns Blazing!

Track use only!

Essential basics

McLaren 720S GT3X aerodynamics

Engine & Powertrain

Carbon Fiber & Kevlar

Availability & Customer Service

McLaren 720S GT3X: Guns Blazing!

In short, that shiny, angular thing you see in your rear view mirror? It could be a McLaren 720S GT3X. And it just might eat you for lunch.

McLaren has been doing very well lately. I won't get distracted by the details, but since American Zak Brown took over the business from (very) British Ron Dennis, they've certainly been firing on all cylinders. Take the example of the McLaren 720S GT3X. It's not exactly pretty, but just like a cobra or a shark, it certainly comes across as very scary and effective.

McLaren 720S GT3X. Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Track Use Only!

McLaren Customer Racing (the in-house arm that works to keep well-heeled enthusiasts and pro-racers alike happy) has just released the unlimited version of the 720S GT3 race car. Dubbed the GT3X, it is intended for track use only. It's not homologated, so there's no real racing class or championship you can compete in, but without needing to comply with competition regulations, GT3X owners can play with levels of power and performance and have even more fun.

Or, as McLaren puts it, the aim of the GT3X is "to optimize driving pleasure on the track". Is that what the kids call it these days?

McLaren 720S GT3X : votre monstre officiel du jour de piste est là !

Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Essential basics

The McLaren 720S GT3X features light and strong carbon fiber. chassis using the MonoCage II design, which underpins the current 720S. Weight? Dig this in: the 720S GT3X tips the scales at just 2,668 lbs, or over 440 lbs. lighter than the road-going 720S it is based on. It's only about 400 pounds. more than the last Miata! McLaren achieved these weight targets by dropping all non-essential or luxury items. Conclusion: The 720S GT3X has a power-to-weight ratio of 587bhp per ton.

Aerodynamics of the McLaren 720S GT3X

Of course, McLaren has seriously worked on the aerodynamics. That's what you do when you have an F1-class wind tunnel and a Computational Fluid Dynamics server farm that has its own cooling facility. The aerodynamically sculpted shape of the 720S GT3X is hand-finished in MSO Carbon Black metallic paint with a heritage McLaren Orange (Papaya) pinstripe. And this X graph? This stretches across the top canopy and looks super cool.

Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Engine & Powertrain

Driving power comes from the familiar 720S engine, but the factory has been seriously reworked with features from the road and track variants. Unique to the GT3X is the hand-built 4.0-liter twin-turbo V8. It features a drawn cylinder head, upgraded pistons, Diamond-Like Technology (DLC) and a performance exhaust system. Altogether that's good for 710hp, with an additional 30hp boost function available via a steering wheel-mounted button. All that power is routed through a six-speed sequential motorsport transmission (by which I bet they mean it's a full dog box).

Carbon fiber & Kevlar

Also on the weight loss program is the stripped-down cabin with its heavy use of carbon fiber, including carbon fiber and the FIA-approved Kevlar racing seat that weighs just 22 pounds. The seat doesn't adjust, but the pedals and steering wheel do for the perfect driving position. All essential functions are controlled via rotary switches and buttons on the steering wheel.

Want to scare your friends' bejeebers? You're lucky. The 720S GT3X can accommodate a safety passenger racing seat, with a six-point racing harness.

Interior layout of the McLaren 720S GT3X. Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Availability & Customer Service

Your 720S GT3X is available to order now in North America from six official McLaren Motorsport retailers: McLaren Beverly Hills, McLaren Houston, McLaren Newport Beach, McLaren Philadelphia, McLaren San Francisco and McLaren Toronto. Each reseller can offer technical support and after-sales service for the GT3X.

You get more than just a race car, however, when you buy a McLaren 720S GT3X. As part of the buy and own package, you get dedicated technical support from in-house McLaren Customer Racing customer support engineers.

Tony Borroz has spent his whole life racing vintage and sports cars. . He is the author of Bricks &; Bones: The Endearing Legacy and Nitty-Gritty Phenomenon of The Indy 500, available in paperback or Kindle. Follow his work on Twitter: @TonyBorroz.

Photo and photo source: McLaren Automotive.


PREV: New Dodge Durango package keeps the dead alive

NEXT: Pet owners worry about safety, but can automakers respond?

Popular Articles

Hot Articles
Back to Top

1. Accueil
  2. New energy
  3. McLaren 720S GT3X : votre monstre officiel du jour de piste est là !

McLaren 720S GT3X : votre monstre officiel du jour de piste est là !

nicad 30/03/2022 566

Lorsqu'une entreprise de course produit des voitures de route, ou même de meilleures voitures de course, cela vaut toujours la peine d'y prêter attention. Bien sûr, on peut jouer avec une Honda Civic pour pouvoir rouler sur la piste locale. Mais quand quelqu'un comme McLaren dit: "Allez, laissez-nous vous faire un carver à angle droit", vous feriez mieux de faire attention.

McLaren 720S GT3X: Guns Blazing!

Utilisation sur piste uniquement !

Bases essentielles

Aérodynamique McLaren 720S GT3X

Moteur & Groupe motopropulseur

Fibre de carbone et amp; Kevlar

Disponibilité & Service client

McLaren 720S GT3X: Guns Blazing!

En bref, cette chose angulaire et brillante que vous voyez dans votre rétroviseur? Il pourrait s'agir d'une McLaren 720S GT3X. Et cela pourrait bien vous manger pour le déjeuner.

McLaren s'en sort très bien ces derniers temps. Je ne vais pas me laisser distraire par les détails, mais depuis que l'Américain Zak Brown a repris l'entreprise au (très) britannique Ron Dennis, ils ont certainement tiré à plein régime. Prenons l'exemple de la McLaren 720S GT3X. Ce n'est pas vraiment joli, mais, tout comme un cobra ou un requin, il se présente certainement comme étant très effrayant et efficace.

McLaren 720S GT3X. Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Track Use Only!

McLaren Customer Racing (la branche interne qui veille à garder les amateurs bien nantis et les pro-racers également heureux) vient de sortir la version illimitée de la voiture de course 720S GT3. Surnommé le GT3X, il est uniquement destiné à une utilisation sur piste. Il n'est pas homologué, il n'y a donc pas de véritable classe de course ou de championnat auquel vous pouvez participer, mais sans avoir besoin de se conformer aux règlements de la compétition, les propriétaires de GT3X peuvent jouer avec des niveaux de puissance et de performances accrus et s'amuser encore plus.

Ou, comme le dit McLaren, le but de la GT3X est "d'optimiser le plaisir de conduire sur circuit". Est-ce ainsi que les enfants l'appellent de nos jours?

McLaren 720S GT3X : votre monstre officiel du jour de piste est là !

Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Bases essentielles

La McLaren 720S GT3X est dotée d'une fibre de carbone légère et résistante. châssis utilisant la conception MonoCage II, qui sous-tend le 720S actuel. Poids? Creusez ceci : le 720S GT3X fait pencher la balance à seulement 2 668 lb, soit plus de 440 lb. plus léger que le 720S routier sur lequel il est basé. C'est seulement environ 400 livres. plus que la dernière Miata ! McLaren a atteint ces objectifs de poids en abandonnant tous les articles non essentiels ou de luxe. Conclusion: La 720S GT3X a un rapport puissance/poids de 587bhp par tonne.

Aérodynamisme de la McLaren 720S GT3X

Bien sûr, McLaren a sérieusement travaillé l'aérodynamisme. C'est ce que vous faites lorsque vous disposez d'une soufflerie de classe F1 et d'un parc de serveurs Computational Fluid Dynamics qui possède sa propre installation de refroidissement. La forme aérodynamiquement sculptée de la 720S GT3X est finie à la main en peinture métallisée MSO Carbon Black avec une fine rayure en orange McLaren (papaye) héritage. Et ce graphique X ? Cela s'étend sur la verrière supérieure et a l'air super cool.

Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Moteur & Groupe motopropulseur

La puissance motrice provient du moteur familier 720S, mais l'usine a été sérieusement retravaillée avec des caractéristiques des variantes route et piste. Le V8 biturbo de 4,0 litres fabriqué à la main est unique à la GT3X. Il comprend une culasse dessinée, des pistons améliorés, la technologie Diamond-Like (DLC) et un système d'échappement performant. Au total, c'est bon pour 710 ch, avec une fonction boost supplémentaire de 30 ch disponible via un bouton monté sur le volant. Toute cette puissance est acheminée via une transmission de sport automobile séquentielle à six vitesses (par laquelle je parie qu'ils signifient qu'il s'agit d'une boîte à chien complète).

Fibre de carbone & Kevlar

Également sur le programme de perte de poids est la cabine dépouillé avec son utilisation intensive de fibre de carbone, y compris la fibre de carbone et le siège de course Kevlar approuvé par la FIA qui ne pèse que 22 livres. Le siège ne s'ajuste pas, mais le pédalier et le volant le font pour une position de conduite parfaite. Toutes les fonctions essentielles sont contrôlées via des commutateurs rotatifs et des boutons sur le volant.

Vous voulez effrayer les bejeebers de vos amis? Tu es chanceux. Le 720S GT3X peut contenir un siège de course passager de sécurité, avec un harnais de course à six points.

Aménagement intérieur de la McLaren 720S GT3X. Photo: McLaren Automotive.

Disponibilité & Service client

Votre 720S GT3X est disponible à la commande dès maintenant en Amérique du Nord auprès des six détaillants officiels McLaren Motorsport: McLaren Beverly Hills, McLaren Houston, McLaren Newport Beach, McLaren Philadelphia, McLaren San Francisco et McLaren Toronto. Chaque revendeur peut proposer une assistance technique et un service après-vente pour la GT3X.

Vous obtenez cependant plus qu'une simple voiture de course lorsque vous achetez une McLaren 720S GT3X. Dans le cadre du package d'achat et de propriété, vous bénéficiez d'un support technique dédié assuré par les ingénieurs du support client de la division interne McLaren Customer Racing.

Tony Borroz a passé toute sa vie à piloter des voitures anciennes et de sport. . Il est l'auteur de Bricks & ; Bones: The Endearing Legacy and Nitty-Gritty Phenomenon of The Indy 500, disponible en format de poche ou Kindle. Suivez son travail sur Twitter: @TonyBorroz.

Photo et source photo: McLaren Automotive.


PREV: Le nouveau package Dodge Durango maintient les morts en vie

NEXT: Les propriétaires d'animaux s'inquiètent de la sécurité, mais les constructeurs automobiles peuvent-ils réagir ?

Articles populaires

Articles chauds
Retour au sommet